Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Tow Vehicles & Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 11-19-2013, 07:16 AM   #1
bennettommyd
Seasoned Camper

M.O.C. #12931
Greasing Wheels

I admit I am no mechanic, but even I should be able to to grease the wet bolts and the wheels. I tried everything I could this morning and could not get the grease gun end to fit onto the zerk fitting. Don't have any idea what to do. Any suggestions? Are there different size zerk fittings? or is it the fitting on the end of the grease gun?

bennettommyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 10:49 AM   #2
HOOK
Montana Master

M.O.C. #11401
Maybe the end of the g-gun needs adjustment. There is an outside collar and an inside clamp. The collar is threaded and can be turned to increase or decrease pressure on the clamp.
HOOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 12:22 PM   #3
jlb27537
Montana Master

M.O.C. #13157
Tom, Can you not get your grease gun on the fitting? Does your grease gun have the rubber hose on it?

The tire is kinda in the way. If you have a rubber hose on your grease gun, then a option would be to put a fitting on the hose that lets you connect at a 90 degree angle. Like this.

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...rease+fittings

OR, you can remove the zerks and replace them with zerks that are at a angle instead of straight on, like you have now. When you replace the zerks, the angle may not be quite right, so a bit of red locktight on the threads and let it set up. This might not be the right one, but you get the idea.

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/de...rease+fittings

If you are greasing the wheel bearings, make sure you have the wheel off the ground so you can turn the wheel while you grease it. It is VERY EASY to overgrease and get grease on the brake linings.

Jim