Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MONTANA OWNERS CLUB COMMUNITY > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 07-28-2004, 05:48 AM   #1
Montana_1887
Established Member

M.O.C. #1887
How do you decide?

Hello!
I work as a "traveling" xray tech. My company sends me all over the US to hospitals with tech shortages. My assignments last for 3 months at a time, and I usually end up staying for 6 or 9 months. They pay for a furnished apartment, or I can opt for a housing allowance. I am seriously considering some fulltime RV options. I am currently in the DC area, and I have been considering the 3400rl. I am also considering some Class A RVs, but I prefer the floorplans of the Montys. My biggest reservation is having a truck for my main vehicle. I don't mind driving something big, I just wish they were more comfortable. I am going to the Midwest RV show in South Bend, IN in August, so I hope to get a better idea then. I would appreciate any comments at all....especially relating to fulltiming. Is it going to be difficult for me to find long term RV sites? I usually find out where I am going 1-2 weeks before I leave.

Thanks for your help and advice!
Di

Montana_1887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 06:32 AM   #2
lightningjack11
Montana Master

M.O.C. #59
I bought my wife a Lexus but she always takes the truck. She likes to sit high up. I do not find my truck to be unconfortable. Go down to a dealer and ask to take a few for a test drive. Recommend diesel for power and economy. Go with a 1 Ton if you want a large unit. You can save bigtime by getting a good used one. You can keep the length of the truck down by getting a short bed with a slider hitch and ext or regular cab. My truck fits in the garage.

Most of the campsites I have been to offer monthly rates which is a considerable savings.