Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > HAVE MOC WILL TRAVEL > Let Us Entertain You
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2017, 11:19 AM   #1
Maurice45
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sioux City
Posts: 10
M.O.C. #18380
Send a message via AIM to Maurice45
How do you recieve major networks with Dish

I need input from actual users of Dish pay as you go. If you have local network package do you just change your antenna address at each campsite or did you have to get the Distant Network package and go through the hassle of the paperwork? If You had to use Distant Network Package, do you have to do that every time you reactivate the service? In talking to Dish I got conflicting answers from the phone support than the Email I sent. Im totally confused!
Maurice45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 11:22 AM   #2
AZ Traveler
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Oro Valley
Posts: 230
M.O.C. #20477
I have had no issue changing my address on the go but I have found service can vary based on who you get on the phone. If you are having trouble hand up and get someone new.
__________________
Zack and Donna plus Millie
2018 Montana 3160rl
2012 F-250
"Life is too short to stay indoors, enjoy the ride!"
AZ Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 11:30 AM   #3
PeteandJoan
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Round Rock
Posts: 181
M.O.C. #17905
Go to your My Dish Account online, sign in, find "Chat with a Representative", just type in "I need to temporarily change my locals to Las Vegas(your choice). They will handle it from there after a few questions. When I called my blood pressure would skyrocket. Fairly simple with chat.
PeteandJoan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 11:30 AM   #4
Maurice45
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sioux City
Posts: 10
M.O.C. #18380
Send a message via AIM to Maurice45
When you change your antenna address do you get the local area channels or are you on the distant net plan?
Maurice45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 11:40 AM   #5
PeteandJoan
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Round Rock
Posts: 181
M.O.C. #17905
I get the local area channels as I move from area to area if I request it. Usually fairly simple. Also If I have not used RV for more than 3 weeks I will use chat and just tell them that I would like a "hit" to refresh my receiver before I turn on TV.
PeteandJoan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 11:46 AM   #6
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,120
M.O.C. #6433
I have always called, but some say chat works even better.

I just call, tell the rep I am in my RV and currently located in "city name", tell them I want to change my service address (not billing address), and a few minutes later I have the local network channels from the nearest major city. They may only want a local zip code, but if they request a street address, I just tell them it is 100 Highway xyz (what ever highway is nearby), city, and state. Have done that for years and never a problem.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 12:53 PM   #7
richfaa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 18,281
M.O.C. #2839
We just crank up the over the air antenna to get the local channels wherever we are.
richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 01:55 PM   #8
Maurice45
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sioux City
Posts: 10
M.O.C. #18380
Send a message via AIM to Maurice45
If youre within range the OTA antenna is an obvious choice. A larege part of our camping is outside of any OTA broadcast capability.
Maurice45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 03:15 PM   #9
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,120
M.O.C. #6433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maurice45 View Post
If youre within range the OTA antenna is an obvious choice. A larege part of our camping is outside of any OTA broadcast capability.
Same problem we have. Many times the towers are too far, or the terrain is too hilly/mountainous for the antenna to pick up.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 05:12 PM   #10
mlh
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem
Posts: 3,435
M.O.C. #2283
You can be close to the antennas and still not be able to get local TV. Where we live I can walk 200 yards and see the towers clearly but where our house is you can’t see the towers and we can’t get any local programming. We have a mountain between us and the towers.
Lynwood
mlh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 07:32 PM   #11
Dam Worker
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: West Richland
Posts: 876
M.O.C. #17164
You didn't mention how far away from home your planning on going. I live in Eastern Washington and travel to the coast and down into Oregon etc. probably four or five hundred miles and still get my home channels as that is what I prefer. As stated earlier by Pete I try to use the receivers at least every couple of weeks so that they have not been disconnected to to lack of use. Then even in the mountains with no cell phone service I have no problem with getting my normal services.
I have not had any desire to get other local stations as I am not full timing yet. Maybe then I will try For other local stations. Also on a side note for the last year or two I have had dealt with great people when calling DISH, usually located back in eastern seaboard.

Tom Marty

Tom Marty
__________________
Dam Worker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 08:27 PM   #12
richfaa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 18,281
M.O.C. #2839
Since we do not boondock in the boondocks we are usually within range of stations OTA. We have never had a problem with directv in changing our location to receive the local channels but have not used that option for years.When at a site for a long period of time like in Florida for the winter we use the satellite antenna on a tripod and when on the road we have a portable dome that sets up in a few minutes.
richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 09:44 PM   #13
DQDick
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Council Grove
Posts: 13,930
M.O.C. #11455
We are seldom if ever in an area where the locals aren't on a repeater and spotty so I always call, get an RV technition and have the address changed. Haven't had a problem in years.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 12:34 AM   #14
rohrmann
Montana Master
 
rohrmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 1,719
M.O.C. #12947
We used to call, but half the time the person answering the phone would not get it right, and I would have to make an additional call. I started doing the chat thing a while back and it works much better. I think I have only had one occasion that I had to do a second chat session to get the service address changed. I also specify each time that I only want the service address changed and DO NOT change my billing address, and probably 90% of the time or more they change my billing address, but that is fixable in my account online. We rarely change things if we are traveling for several days in a row, just wait until we get where we are going.
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402RL
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC 4WD
rohrmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 07:02 AM   #15
timandsusan
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,054
M.O.C. #5165
I have used the CHAT method for several years with good success. We travel mostly in TX, NM, AZ, CO, and UT at this time--if you travel there--a single major station covers the state and nearby states. Like Albuquerque TV stations cover NM and parts of CO, Ut, and AZ. I can only guess that typing in an address is more accurate than telling someone over the phone. So, I stick with CHAT and a wifi Hot Spot on my Verizon means I can get thru to Dish when I want too!
timandsusan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 07:55 AM   #16
Maurice45
Established Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sioux City
Posts: 10
M.O.C. #18380
Send a message via AIM to Maurice45
Thank you all for your input, it is appreciated. It looks like chatting to change the antenna address is the way to go.
Maurice45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 09:17 AM   #17
richfaa
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Ridgeville
Posts: 18,281
M.O.C. #2839
I am going to try the chat method to get the locals.
richfaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 09:50 AM   #18
awheeler
Seasoned Camper
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Livingston
Posts: 55
M.O.C. #19482
Same here

Quote:
Originally Posted by richfaa View Post
We just crank up the over the air antenna to get the local channels wherever we are.
We do the same. Have not had a problem so far.
Ann
__________________
Don & Ann Wheeler (+ 3 Rescued Yorkies)
2017 Montana 3791RD Legacy
2017 RAM 3500 Laramie Dually
Ret. Texas A&M Ph.D. & USAF Ret., Fighter Pilot - Vietnam Vet
awheeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.