Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 08-15-2010, 03:53 PM   #1
snowhawk2
Montana Fan

M.O.C. #10557
SRW or DRW towing 2010 3750 FL

I have a situation that I'm hoping the wiser and more experienced MOC members can help me understand. I have been towing for 25 years and I've always done my homework, been within weights on tow vehicle and trailers, and torque and check tires every trip as part of my trip preparation. I'm not an amateur but I'm scratching my head on this one. Here is the situation: I'm towing a Montana 3750 with a 2006 F350 SRW Crew Cab shortbed with the 6.0 diesel and I'm getting alot of rocking motion front to back, after going over bumps. I'm on my third fiver and this sensation is new. It also at times feels like, when cornering at highway speeds, the rear wheels want to slide out but of course don't but the sensation is new. So here are the facts:

The truck is towing the 3750 well and I would tow cross country and feel safe, but something is not just set up right.

The nose of the fiver is a little high but barely noticeable to the eye. The hitch cannot be lowered anymore and I currently have 6 - 7 inches between rail and fiver which is good.

My prior fiver, a Montana Mountaineer, was 1300lbs lighter dry weight, 2.5' shorter, and 300lbs HEAVIER at the pin, and when towing I didn't feel the same sensations as described above.

It seems like I have some instability in the rear end of the truck, which I didn't have with Mountaineer, even when it was loaded to the max and near the weight of the 3750 partially loaded. I'm assuming length and weight related becuase of the size of the 3750.