Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2018, 10:43 AM   #1
MelDan
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Green Cove Springs
Posts: 13
M.O.C. #20380
TV Antenna

We'd like to run a different TV antenna into our 2017 3820FK. Is it possible to use any of the preexisting inputs (TV, cable, satellite) without needing to add a new connect on the outside? Direct from antenna through the window works great but not ideal situation. As its set up now, connecting through the antenna coaxial won't work.
MelDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 12:12 PM   #2
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,312
M.O.C. #6433
The existing antenna should work with any/all TVs you have unless you have added a TV that is not near an inside coax connection.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 03:57 PM   #3
Lenny K
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 653
M.O.C. #14417
I know in my trailer there are multiple coax wires located in the bedroom that has different combinations you can use. You might want to check that out but it could be located in a different location.
__________________
Lenny and Ros
2012 Montana 3400RL, 680 Watts Solar, 4 x T-105 Trojans, Trimetric 2020, EMSHW50C
2009 Chevy Silverado 3500 LTZ Duramax 4x4 CC Dually, Banks Speed Brake

Lenny K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:07 AM   #4
MelDan
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Green Cove Springs
Posts: 13
M.O.C. #20380
TV antenna

We aren't changing TVs, just antenna. I have disconnected the cable on the existing antenna, connected it to the new antenna, and it doesn't work. But when I connect the new antenna to its own cable, run it through the window to the LR TV, it works (on that TV). My question is if someone knows how or where the wiring is so that I can connect it internally and have it work on both LR and BR TVs without drilling a new hole from inside to outside.
MelDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:25 AM   #5
prndl
Montana Fan
 
prndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: 1000 oaks
Posts: 312
M.O.C. #19630
Where is your new antenna located?

You might also try turning the antenna booster on or off to see what happens.
__________________
2011 2955RL Reese Sidewinder 5th Airborne
2014 RAM 2500 CD Demco Recon Hitch
4X4 Crew Cab/Short Bed
prndl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:30 AM   #6
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 2,253
M.O.C. #13740
If you pushed the antenna preamp button on, the new antenna should have worked. Connections in outside center should work as well as they are just wire. Sat lv for lv tv only, cable in for bedroom and lv unless splitters are causing your problems. The wiring diagrams shown in threads asking how the wiring is run , should allow you to understand how the factory was supposed to wire it.
__________________
2012 F350 6.7 L dually, 2013 3800RE with 6 pt leveling, Sumitomo 17.5" load range h tires, Samsung 18 cu ft residential fridge, 8k Morryde I.S. with disc brakes scheduled for 6/2018.
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:33 AM   #7
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,312
M.O.C. #6433
Agree with prndl. If you have not tried turning on/off the antenna switch, try that with the antenna connected to the antenna coax. That switch switches between the antenna and the outside cable input.
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:10 AM   #8
MelDan
Established Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Green Cove Springs
Posts: 13
M.O.C. #20380
TV antenna

I turned the amp button both on and off. Didn't help. Will check threads for the wiring schematics.
MelDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 11:00 AM   #9
Lenny K
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 653
M.O.C. #14417
Were you getting reception when you used the old antenna which was probably a winegard? Are you replacing it with the same or some other type?
__________________
Lenny and Ros
2012 Montana 3400RL, 680 Watts Solar, 4 x T-105 Trojans, Trimetric 2020, EMSHW50C
2009 Chevy Silverado 3500 LTZ Duramax 4x4 CC Dually, Banks Speed Brake

Lenny K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 01:36 PM   #10
BB_TX
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: McKinney
Posts: 4,312
M.O.C. #6433
On the back side of your antenna switch plate there should be 3 coax cables. One from the roof antenna, one from the convenience center cable input, and one going to the internal cabling to your TVs. Determine which comes from the roof antenna, disconnect that one, and connect the cable direct from your new antenna to that point, and you should get signal to all your TVs (with the switch in the correct position). If your TVs work like that, then your cable from the roof antenna is probably bad.

Antenna switch box should look something like this one.
https://www.amazon.com/Winegard-RV-7...=1521833305414
__________________
Bill & Patricia
& Molly (our 11 yr old Golden)
2007 3075RL
2012 F350 SRW CC LB FX4 6.7
BB_TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.