Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > MOC on M.A.R.S. > Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2016, 03:57 PM   #1
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
AC Not Working in Bedrrom

AC not working in bedroom. I believe the thermostat is bad...either in bedroom or main thermostat is bad. Temp in bedroom reads 57 degrees.. it is really 80 something. Living area working fine.

Pic is thermostat in bedroom. Is this correct...just a wire???

Would appreciate any suggestions!!!

[/URL]
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 04:20 PM   #2
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 15,283
M.O.C. #11455
Your correct, the little dark colored end on the wires is the temperature sensor. You could try reseting the thermostat and see if it gets the proper temp after the reset because that is only a sensor, the brain is the thermostat for the whole system.
__________________
Dick and Joyce, Wilsey, KS & Lakewood, NM
2017 3720 RL
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi Cab
IS and Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Bathroom door mod, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 04:25 PM   #3
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
Have cycled power on thermostat a cpl of times. Is there another reset process?
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 05:04 PM   #4
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
Turned thermostat off, pressed mode and zone, got INIT, turned tbermostat on. No i.pro ement.
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 05:08 PM   #5
jcurtis934
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pensacola (mail forward service)
Posts: 2,511
M.O.C. #13740
Assuming you have the dometic comfort control center 2, a system reset is done by: make sure thermostat is off, at the same time press mode and zone buttons (display shows iniT), release buttons, press on/off button to exit system setup. John
__________________
2012 F350 6.7 L dually, 2013 3800RE with 6 pt leveling, Sumitomo 17.5" load range h tires, Samsung 18 cu ft residential fridge, 8k Morryde I.S. with disc brakes. Full timing since 2012.
jcurtis934 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 05:13 PM   #6
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
Thermostat still reads 58 degrees in zone 2....really in 70s.

I guess I need a new thermistat.
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 08:31 AM   #7
MARK A
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: STAYTON
Posts: 613
M.O.C. #18157
Quote:
quote:Originally posted by chris199

Thermostat still reads 58 degrees in zone 2....really in 70s.

I guess I need a new thermistat.
Can you simply set your ON temp to 50?


Mark
__________________

2016 3610/2012 F-350 Powerstroke
MARK A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 08:33 AM   #8
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
I can give that a try! Not sure how low it goes but worth a shot!"
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 03:46 PM   #9
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
Well.... Got the replacement thermostat and it also reads 53 degrees in bedroom when it has to be over 80.

Now what??? Replace the sensor in the bedroom? Does that go all the way back to the thermostat somewhere and get consolidated to the phone like cable that plugs into the thermostat?
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 04:06 PM   #10
DQDick
Montana Master
 
DQDick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wilsey
Posts: 15,283
M.O.C. #11455
Never actually dealt with it, but I was told the sensor goes to the bedroom AC unit (I assume to the board somehow) which then communicates with the thermostat. I don't totally trust where I got that info, however.
__________________
Dick and Joyce, Wilsey, KS & Lakewood, NM
2017 3720 RL
2017 3500 Dodge Maxi Cab
IS and Disk Brakes, 3rd AC, Bathroom door mod, etc.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:10 PM   #11
dieselguy
Montana Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Haysville
Posts: 3,504
M.O.C. #3085
Unless it is a sensor that states no wire cutting ... simply cut the wire on both old and new leaving a pigtail long enough to splice the new one on the existing wiring with a couple of wire nuts.
dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2016, 05:35 PM   #12
chris199
Montana Fan
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: SE
Posts: 478
M.O.C. #17167
ok... Here's what is happening....

Took filter cover off and found wire going to sensor. As a result of just jiggling the wires... It reads the correct temp and AC comes on. Tucked wires back in and malfunction again. There's a different looking whit flat plastic connector with a clasp on sid.. I reseated that and ok so fa..

Will inspect more closely over the werken.. At least have AC tonight... Very thankful for that!
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Living Room TV & Bedrrom TV & Basement TV getontheroad Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 12 07-05-2016 04:03 AM
Okay! Everything is working - osofine General Discussions about our Montanas 10 01-12-2008 12:24 PM
Missing bedrrom sliding doors osofine General Discussions about our Montanas 6 10-17-2007 10:37 AM
A/C not working happy campers Montana Problems, Problem Solving & Technical Help 10 05-27-2007 02:29 PM
15K AC not working jpf Repairs & Service 4 05-26-2007 02:27 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Montana RV, Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.