Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > Sitting around the Campfire
Click Here to Login

Old 11-25-2012, 07:11 AM   #1
bish
Site Team

M.O.C. #8644
22 Pistol

Looking to purchase my first pistol for critter control and protection. Leaning toward either Browning Buckmark Standard URX or Smith & Wesson 22A Rimfire. Anyone have experience or comments on best choice?

2009 10th Anniversary 3400RL, LED bulbs throughout unit, Level up, X-Factor, Wet bolts, Disc brakes, Sailun S637 tires.
bish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 09:03 AM   #2
8.1al
Montana Master

M.O.C. #1658
I have no personal experience with either model but both make good pistols. For protection I would like something with a little larger caliber though
8.1al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 10:59 AM   #3
nosticks
Montana Master

M.O.C. #10378
As a pistol shooter for over 40 years and on pistol teams etc. I would not go with the Buckmark. I have had Brownings in the past, but they were of excellent quality compared to today's versions. I would highly recommend you consider a Ruger Mark III. They are very accurate out of the box and there are so many after market things you can get for them. They will digest just about any brand of ammo you feed it with out any malfunctions.
nosticks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 12:25 PM   #4
maximo
Montana Master

M.O.C. #11371
bish,