Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Montana Owners Club - Keystone Montana 5th Wheel Forum > GENERAL DISCUSSIONS > General Discussions about our Montanas
Click Here to Login

Old 12-01-2012, 03:52 PM   #1
h2ojocky
Montana Master

M.O.C. #13025
Montana durability

Newbie here. Thanks for the welcome. Considering buying a 2004
2955RL Montana. Have been reading posts regarding problems with flexing and cracks in the bedroom. Is this going to be a problem for a 2004 32 foot trailer? Wanted to go Montana due to the quality, but have been reading about problems and am getting cold feet. Am I still OK?

Also the pinbox seems to have a lip on the front that is bent. Will this be a problem. Trying to attach photo but not having any luck.

Thanks for any input.

h2ojocky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:01 PM   #2
DQDick
Site Team

M.O.C. #11455
Personally, I'd just inspect the rig for signs of failure and then jump right in. If the woodwork in the front cabinet is good and the seals on the front are solid, my opinion is that you're good. Remember there are something like 6,000 members on this forum and while the problems are something to be concerned about they aren't happening to everyone by any means. I would be more concerned about the lip over the king pin. Sounds like someone tried to hitch with the pin too low. If it's bent down you should replace it. If it's bent up you could probably get away with it, but I'd replace it anyway if it were mine.
DQDick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 04:41 PM   #3
Irlpguy
Montana Master

M.O.C. #12935
There are at least two things I would do before buying a used unit.

Based on the VIN# I wuld ask the dealer to get a history of warranty work preformed on the unit.